Clubs & Activities

National Honors Society

*To become a National Honor Society member there are certain requirements that must be met. Each student must be eligible based on the four pillars of NHS: character, scholarship, leadership, and service. They must maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 92%. Starting with the class of 2021, the requirement will be a GPA of 93%. In addition, they must preserve an excellent record of behavior in and out of school, participate in leadership roles in school and/or community activities. Students must fill out a Student Activity Information Form(not just co-curricular activities but also activities in the community and even part-time job experience). Faculty and staff will then have the opportunity to fill out a Character Rating Form for each candidate. Finally, a faculty council consisting of 5 or more anonymous members will review all the forms for each candidate and then make a decision on acceptance.

Advisor

Marilee Phillips - mphillips@clarion-schools.com

Student Council

Senior High Student Council is comprised of 10-12 grade students representatives. To be elected to the council, students must complete a representative questionnaire and be endorsed by 30 classmates. Election results are based upon scores from the survey, classmate voting, teacher scoring and advisor scoring. Senior High Student Council sponsors the following events: Seventh Grade and New Student Orientation, Faculty Fan Frenzy Days, Homecoming Spirit Week, Pep Rally and Dance, Red Cross Blood Drives (2), Candy Cane Sales, Winter Spirit Week & Bobcat Bash, Dodgeball Tournament, Spring Spirit Week & Opening Day, Faculty Appreciation Lunch, Peachfuzz Volleyball and Talent Show.

Advisors

Nate Blachier - nblachier@clarion-schools.com

Carmen Vecchitto - cvecchitto@clarion-schools.com

Robotics

Advisors

Brian Burford - bburford@clarion-schools.com

Della Kurtzhals - dkurtzhals@clarion-schools.com


Science Olympiad

Science Olympiad is a competition in which students compete in events pertaining to various scientific disciplines, including earth science, biology, chemistry, physics, and engineering.

Advisors

Brian Burford - bburford@clarion-schools.com

Kim Stormer - kstormer@clarion-schools.com


Industry Club

Club meetings are planned throughout the school year, beginning in December of the school year, in the Choir Room. We will plan some Club trips for times after the school day. Industry Club is open to students in grades 7 - 12. We research and observe different career clusters in the Clarion area. Field trips and fun are always included in Industry Club. We participate in an Expo every spring and compete against other Industry Clubs. At the end of the year we have a banquet as well.

Advisors

Jessica Davis - jdavis@clarion-schools.com

Julie Johnson - jljohnson@clarion-schools.com

Youth Council

Help students develop leadership roles in their schools and communities. Share ideas with students from across the county and share ideas and opinions about issues of importance to today's youth. Students have an opportunity to discuss ideas and problems they see within the school and community, identify problems and begin planning ways they can develop solutions.

Advisor

Sarah Matson - smatson@clarion-schools.com



Art History Club

The Clarion Area Art History club focuses on appreciating and enjoying the old and new art from many cultures. The students are responsible for the street art scattered around the downtown Clarion area. We take a variety of trips to places like Pittsburgh, Washington D.C., New York City, and Europe. The students who want to take the trips are required to pay for it themselves, however, because we are such a big group we get discounted rates. We also have a student based magazine every year called SOL Magazine. Students are able to submit photos or writings that they have done.

Advisor

Caitlin Weyandt - cweyandt@clarion-schools.com


Ski Club

The CAHS Ski Club is a club for all students and parents of Clarion Area High School. All abilities, from ¨Can't even spell ski¨ to terrain park experts. Skiers or boarders... all are welcome (elementary school students must be accompanied by a parent). The club is a joint effort between Clarion Area, Redbank Valley, and Union High Schools. Trip updates, release forms and other information are also available from our club's Facebook page.

Advisor

Dr. David Hartley - dhartley@clarion.edu